Skip to main content
Trinity's Tim Scannell named Skip Bertman National Coach of the Year


LUBBOCK, Texas -- The National College Baseball Hall of Fame is proud to announce Trinity coach Tim Scannell as the 2016 Skip Bertman National Coach of the Year.

In 2016, Scannell led the Tigers to their second consecutive NCAA Division III World Series and to their first National Championship in program history. In his 18 years as head coach at Trinity, he has also led his team to seven straight NCAA Regional Tournaments.

The Tigers finished the season with a 44-7 record, the most wins in school history. Scannell recorded his 600th career victory during the season while also becoming the winningest baseball coach in Trinity history.

"Coach Scannell and his Tigers had a great year," said Bertman Award Committee chair Mike Gustafson. "We're honored to have our first Division III recipient of the award."

The award, sponsored by Easton Sports, is named for Bertman, who coached at LSU from 1984 to 2001. During his tenure, he won five national championships and was named National Coach of the Year six times. He coached 31 players who went on to play Major League Baseball and was inducted into the National College Baseball Hall of Fame as part of the inaugural class in 2006. Since that time, three of his players have joined him in the Hall of Fame.

Scannell also was named the 2016 Coach of the Year as well as the HERO Sports D3 Baseball Coach of the Year.

Scannell will be honored at the Hall of Fame's annual Night of Champions celebration on Saturday, along with the National Pitcher of the Year, the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year and the Brooks Wallace Award winner.

For more information on the National College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions, visit

The Hall of Famers