Skip to main content
Impressive statistics highlight Pitcher of the Year finalists
Lauer, Puckett, Shore are nation's top pitchers

LUBBOCK, Texas -- As the college baseball postseason reaches its final stretch, the finalists for the National Pitcher of the Year Award, presented by the National College Baseball Hall of Fame, have been announced.

The award, sponsored by Diamond, will be presented on July 2 in Lubbock as part of the Hall of Fame's annual Night of Champions event.

The finalists for the 2016 Pitcher of the Year Award are Eric Lauer of Kent State, A.J. Puckett of Pepperdine and Logan Shore of Florida.

"These three young men have been dominant all season," said Raymond Richardson, Pitcher of the Year co-chair. "Their statistics demonstrate that, and each of the three has proven himself deserving of this award."

Lauer, a junior left-hander, finished the season with a 0.69 ERA and 125 strikeouts in 104 innings. He went 10-2 with a .141 opponent batting average. He threw a no-hitter on May 13 to help Kent State win the Mid-American Conference regular-season title. He was drafted by the San Diego Padres as the 25th overall pick in the 2016 Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft.

Puckett, a junior right-hander, went 9-3 on the season with a 1.27 ERA and 95 strikeouts in 99 1/3 innings. He allowed only two home runs on the season, and opponents hit only .191 against him. He threw 45 2/3 consecutive scoreless innings and 57 1/3 consecutive innings without giving up an earned run. He was selected by the Kansas City Royals with the 67th overall pick in the MLB draft.

Shore, a junior right-hander who threw eight shutout innings in the second super regional game against Florida State, is 12-0 on the season with a 2.24 ERA in 100 1/3 innings. He struck out 89 and walked only 17. He also threw three complete games. He was selected by the Oakland A's as the 47th overall pick in the MLB draft.

The Night of Champions event also features the announcement of the winners of the Brooks Wallace Shortstop of the Year Award, the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award and the Skip Bertman National Coach of the Year Award, as well as the 2016 National College Baseball Hall of Fame inductions. The winners of the Johnny Bench Award and the Dick Howser Trophy will be recognized as well.

For more information on the Pitcher of the Year Award or the College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions, visit





Eric Lauer

Kent State


A.J. Puckett


West Coast

Logan Shore



The Hall of Famers