Skip to main content
Top shortstops recognized as finalists for Wallace Award
Hairston, Neuse, LeBlanc are nation's top shortstops

LUBBOCK, Texas -- Three slick-fielding and hard-hitting players have been named finalists for the Brooks Wallace Shortstop of the Year Award, presented by the College Baseball Hall of Fame.

The award, sponsored by Mizuno, honors the nation's top shortstop and will be presented as part of the annual Night of Champions celebration on July 2 in Lubbock. Devin Hairston of Louisville, Sheldon Neuse of Oklahoma and Charles LeBlanc of Pittsburgh are this year's finalists.

"Selecting just three players as finalists from a great group of qualified talent proved to be very difficult," said Wallace Award co-chair Larry Wallace. "All three of these young men represent the spirit of the Wallace Award and have distinguished themselves as the top shortstops in the country."

Hairston helped lead the Cardinals to the NCAA Super Regional round as one of Louisville's top bats. He hit .361 on the year with three home runs and 45 RBIs, which was third on the team. He also posted a .478 slugging percentage and a .415 on-base percentage, earning All-Atlantic Coast Conference third-team honors. In addition, he has been chosen to compete for a roster spot with the 2016 USA Baseball Collegiate National Team.

Neuse put up huge numbers for the Sooners all season en route to earning a third straight All-Big 12 Conference first-team selection. He was also named a second-team Louisville Slugger All-American after hitting .369 with 10 home runs and 48 RBIs. He compiled a .646 slugging percentage and .465 on-base percentage and committed just five errors in 244 chances to handle the ball, good for a .980 fielding percentage.

LeBlanc powered the Panthers to one of their most successful seasons since joining the Atlantic Coast Conference. Drafted in the fourth round of the Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft by the Texas Rangers, the junior hit a team-leading .405 with two home runs and 46 RBIs. He finished with a .513 slugging percentage and .494 on-base percentage.

The Night of Champions event also features the announcement of the winners of the National Pitcher of the Year Award, the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award and the Skip Bertman National Coach of the Year Award, as well as the 2016 National College Baseball Hall of Fame inductions. The winners of the Johnny Bench Award and the Dick Howser Trophy will be recognized as well. 

For more information on the Brooks Wallace Award or the College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions, visit





Devin Hairston



Sheldon Neuse


Big 12

Charles LeBlanc



The Hall of Famers