Skip to main content
Youth competing with experience on Wallace Award watch list

LUBBOCK, Texas -- Young players are giving their more-experienced counterparts some competition on the initial 2016 watch list for the Brooks Wallace Shortstop of the Year Award.

The award, sponsored by Mizuno, honors the nation's top shortstop and will be presented as part of the annual Night of Champions celebration on July 2 in Lubbock.

Of the 54 players recognized on the first watch list of the year, 19 are classified as freshmen or sophomores. Among that group is Terrin Vavra, a freshman at Minnesota, who's hitting .390 on the season to go with his .988 fielding percentage. Also keeping pace in that group is sophomore Devin Hairston of Louisville, who's hitting .388 with 31 RBI and a .959 fielding percentage.

"To see so many younger guys already being really competitive at the shortstop position is exciting," said Tyler Young, Wallace Award co-chair. "While there are plenty of experienced players on the watch list, it's great to see the success some of these freshmen and sophomores are having."

Junior Riley Delgado of Middle Tennessee State leads the watch list with a .404 batting average. In 37 games, he has eight doubles and 21 walks compared to only eight strikeouts. He also has a .953 fielding percentage.

San Francisco junior Nico Giarratano has only two errors on the season, good for a .990 fielding percentage, the highest on the watch list. Through 39 games, he's hitting .242 with four doubles, two home runs and 17 RBI.

"All of the players on this list have really competitive statistics," said Larry Wallace, award co-chair. "They're going to make our jobs really tough as the season continues. I'm looking forward to seeing how this continues to evolve throughout the rest of the season."

For more information on the Wallace Award or the Night of Champions event, visit

2016 Brooks Wallace Shortstop of the Year Watch List

Name School Conference
Stephen Alemais Tulane AAC
Taylor Walls Florida State ACC
Devin Hairston Louisville ACC
Brandon Lopez Miami ACC
Joe Dunand North Carolina State ACC
Charles LeBlanc Pittsburgh ACC
JJ Gould Jacksonville Atlantic Sun
Nick Roscetti Iowa Big 10
Kevin Smith Maryland Big 10
Terrin Vavra Minnesota Big 10
Sheldon Neuse Oklahoma Big 12
Donnie Walton Oklahoma State Big 12
Mason Hesse TCU Big 12
Nicky Lopez Creighton Big East
Michael Paez Coastal Carolina Big South
Luke Manzo College of Charleston Colonial
Brady Policelli Towson Colonial
CJ Chatham Florida Atlantic Conference USA
Riley Delgado Middle Tennessee State Conference USA
Zach Rutherford Old Dominion Conference USA
Ford Proctor Rice Conference USA
Nick Dawson Southern Miss Conference USA
Mitch Roman Wright State Horizon
Matthew Batten Quinnipiac Metro Atlantic
Korby Batesole Fresno State Mountain West
Dalton Bowers New Mexico Mountain West
Dan Cellucci Bryant Northeast
Clayton Smithson Austin Peay OVC
Reid Leonard Morehead State OVC
Branden Boggetto Southeast Missouri State OVC
Cody Ramer Arizona Pac 12
Colby Woodmansee Arizona State Pac 12
Trever Morrison Oregon State Pac 12
Tommy Edman Stanford Pac 12
Chandler Avant Alabama SEC
Dalton Guthrie Florida SEC
Nick King Georgia SEC
Riley Mahan Kentucky SEC
Kramer Robertson LSU SEC
Ryan Gridley Mississippi State SEC
Errol Robinson Ole Miss SEC
Marcus Mooney South Carolina SEC
Danny Rodriguez Samford Southern
Tripp Shelton UNC Greensboro Southern
Stijn van der Meer Lamar Southland
Aaron Palmer New Orleans Southland
Brennan Breaud Southeastern Louisiana Southland
Drew Fearing North Dakota State Summit
Trevin Sonnier Oral Roberts Summit
Drew LaBounty South Alabama Sun Belt
Griffin Andreychuk Seattle WAC
Hayden Nielsen BYU West Coast
Dustin Breshears Gonzaga West Coast
Bryson Brigman San Diego West Coast
Nico Giarratano San Francisco West Coast

The Hall of Famers