Skip to main content

2016 College Baseball Hall of Fame Inductees

Seven new members were inducted into the National College Baseball Hall of Fame on July 2, 2016, in the annual celebration of the greatest players in past and present college baseball.

The College Baseball Night of Champions in Lubbock, Texas, honored these men for their induction into the National College Baseball Hall of Fame: Jackson State coach Bob Braddy; Marietta College pitcher Matt DeSalvo; Florida State outfielder JD Drew; the winningest collegiate baseball coach in history Augie Garrido; Arizona State outfielder Rick Monday; University of Houston outfielder Tom Paciorek and Valdosta State coach Tommy Thomas.

Robert Braddy

Jackson State University / 1973-2000

Braddy gets inducted

  • Compiled an 824-546 record in 28 years at JSU
  • Won 12 conference championships
  • Teams advanced to the NCAA tournament three times
  • Named NAIA District Coach of the Year twice and SWAC Coach of the Year eight times
  • Sent 52 players to the professional ranks including Dennis "Oil Can" Boyd, Marvin Freeman, Wes Chamberlain, Earl Sanders and Dave Clark
  • In 2003 became the first African-American to be inducted into the American Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame
  • Inducted into the SWAC Hall of Fame in 2005 and the JSU Sports Hall of Fame in 1985
[ ^ Jump to top ]

Matt DeSalvo

Marietta College / 1999-2003

DeSalvo gets inducted

  • 53-6 career record (most career wins of any pitcher at any level of college baseball)
  • His 603 strikeouts are the second most of any pitcher at any level of college baseball
  • His 205 strikeouts in 2001 are most by any D-III pitcher
  • ABCA Division III National Player of the Year in 2001
  • National Pitcher of the Year in 2003
  • Three-time first-team D-III All-American
[ ^ Jump to top ]

J.D. Drew

Florida State / 1995-97

Drew gets inducted

  • Became the only player in Division I history to hit 30 home runs and steal 30 bases as a junior in 1997
  • Hit .455 that season in 67 games
  • Only the third player in NCAA history to record a triple-triple - 100 hits, 100 runs, 100 RBIs. Broke 17 FSU and ACC records, including season batting average, career slugging percentage and ACC season and career home runs with 59
  • Named player of the year by Baseball America, Collegiate Baseball, The Sporting News and the ACC
  • Won both the Dick Howser and Golden Spikes trophies
  • First-team Freshman All-American in 1995
  • Named first-team All-American by ABCA, Baseball America, Collegiate Baseball and NCBWA in 1996 and 1997. Also a first-team All-American selection by The Sporting News in 1997
  • Also named to the College World Series All-Decade team and was eighth in Baseball America's collegiate "Player of the Century" poll
  • Elected to FSU Hall of Fame in 2003
[ ^ Jump to top ]

Augie Garrido

SF State, Cal Poly, Cal State Fullerton,
    Illinois, Texas / 1969-2016

Garrido gets inducted

  • Only coach in college baseball history to win more than 1,900 games
  • First coach to lead teams from two different schools to national titles (Cal State Fullerton and Texas); first coach to win national titles in four different decades and one of only three coaches to win five or more titles (1979, 1984, 1995, 2002, 2005)
  • Has taken 15 teams to the College World Series and has appeared in 32 NCAA Regionals
  • Six-time National Coach of the Year (1975, 1979, 1984, 1995, 2002, 2005), seven-time regional coach of the year and eight-time conference coach of the year
  • Teams have won 25 conference championships
  • Became only the second coach to appear as both player and head coach in the College World Series in 1975
  • Named one of three coaches on 2010 College World Series Legends Team
  • Became the all-time winningest NCAA Division I coach with his 1,428 win on June 9, 2003
  • Passed Gordie Gillespie (2009 National College Baseball Hall of Famer) to become the winningest college baseball coach at any level on March 25, 2015, with 1,894th career wins
    * Active coaches age 75 years or older may be considered for induction
[ ^ Jump to top ]

Rick Monday

Arizona State / 1965

Monday gets inducted

  • Played only one varsity season at ASU
  • Named National Player of the Year by The Sporting News in 1965, while helping to lead the Sun Devils to a national title
  • Hit .359 that season with a school-record 11 home runs and blasted two home runs during the College World Series to earn All-CWS team honors
  • Also recorded 11 doubles and 12 triples that season
  • Was the first player drafted by Major League Baseball, as he went No. 1 overall to the Kansas City A's in the first MLB amateur draft in 1965
  • ASU retired his number in 1997
[ ^ Jump to top ]

Tom Paciorek

University of Houston / 1966-68

Paciorek gets inducted

  • Considered one of the best all-around athletes in UH history
  • Became the first first-team All-American in school history
  • Named first-team All-American in 1967 and 1968 by both ABCA and The Sporting News
  • Led the Cougars to the championship game of the 1967 College World Series by hitting .435 with 10 home runs in 32 games played
  • One of only three Cougars to be named to the NCAA College World Series All-Tournament Team
  • Selected to College World Series All-Time Team (1947-1970) as part of the 25th CWS celebration in 1971
  • More than 35 years after his final game as a Cougar, his single-season batting average of .435 in 1967 remains the best in school history
  • Finished his collegiate career with seven single-season school records and 10 career marks
  • Was drafted professionally in 1968 by both the Los Angeles Dodgers and the Miami Dolphins
  • In 1970, he became the first Cougar to play in the major leagues, where he spent a total of 16 seasons
[ ^ Jump to top ]

Tommy Thomas

Valdosta State / 1968-2007

Thomas gets inducted

  • Retired as the winningest coach in Division II history with 1,308 wins in 40 years
  • Graduated from Valdosta State after a four-year baseball career where he played third base and batted .316
  • Was named head coach in 1967 and led the VSU baseball team through 34 winning seasons
  • Won the Division II national title in 1979
  • Teams qualified for postseason play in 25 seasons
  • Took teams to DII national tournament eight times
  • Won Gulf South Conference titles in 1995 and 2002 and divisional titles in 1983, 2001 and 2003
  • Coached 28 All-Americans and 76 All-Gulf South Conference honorees
  • Named ABCA Coach of the Year in 1979 and GSC Coach of the Year in 1995 and 2002
  • In 2006 became the first and only active player or coach to be inducted into Valdosta State's Athletic Hall of Fame
[ ^ Jump to top ]

Calendar & Events